Ekiti State University

History of The Faculty

The Faculty was conceived in 1984/85 session but the planning for its take-off did not commence until June 1985 when a meeting of some seasoned and experienced educationists and professionals in the field was held on the issue. This panel of experts reviewed the Faculty programmes before approval was sought from Senate.  It was the aim of the University to develop courses in Applied Sciences, Engineering and Technology in line with nation planning objectives and manpower needs.  It was with this in mind that the programmes in CVE, EEE and MEE were established. The first set of students was admitted in 1985/86 Session. The students took foundation courses with Science in the Faculty of Science.

Faculty members have been recognized and elected into various administrative positions. For example, Professors J.O. Aribisala (2012-2014) and I.O. Oluwaleye (2017-2019); were elected into the Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor as stated.

There have been sixteen (16) substantive Deans elected since the inception of the Faculty of Engineering in 1985. The office of the Sub-Dean was instituted in 1992 for one-year renewable tenure. About twenty (20) Sub-Deans have served for either one or two years since then. The current Dean and Sub-Dean are Professor O.M. Ogundipe and Dr. K.A. Olanipekun respectively.

Philosophy of EKSU Engineering Programme

The Philosophy of the Faculty derives from the developmental philosophy of the University. As a developmental university, the institution sets itself the mission of identifying and helping to solve developmental problems of the state through training, research and services.  In furtherance of this objective, the Faculty of Engineering provides innovative educational programmes of high standard to produce engineers for the industrialization of the nation.  Unlike other conventional universities, EKSU’s Programme in engineering encompasses a comprehensive course of lectures and practicals in industrial processes, management and finance.  This is considered very relevant for the industrial development of the state in particular and the country in general.

List of Departments in the Faculty

  1. Department of Civil Engineering
  2. Department of Computer Engineering
  3. Department of Electrical & Electronic Engineering
  4. Department of Mechanical Engineering