Ekiti State University

History of Mechanical Engineering Department

The Philosophy of Ekiti State University as a whole is inclined towards producing generalist graduates in their different disciplines.  This implies that our graduates can adapt their knowledge to solving problems that vary with space and time.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering, which is a part of the University, was established in 1985 alongside Civil and Electrical/Electronic Engineering Departments of the Faculty of Engineering, with 12 students which has now increased tremendously.  The first two years of the Department’s programme are the same as the other Departments in the Faculty of Engineering.  The Department graduated its first set of students in 1990 when all the 11 (eleven) pioneering students finished successfully with four at Second Class (Upper Division) and six at Second Class (Lower Division) and one at the third class level.  So far, we have graduated thirty sets of students at bachelor’s degree level.

At inception, the academic staff strength was low, some of whom were expatriates through the linkage programme between the University and Aalborg University Centre, Aalborg, Denmark.  Through this linkage programme, several members of staff of the faculty undertook  postgraduate research training programmes in Denmark, the efforts of which are now yielding results in terms of qualified and competent lecturers in the Department and indeed the Faculty as a whole.

Currently, the academic staff strength is 16 and the breakdown is; 3 Professors, 1 Reader, 6 Senior Lecturers, 4 Lecturers 1, 1 Lecturer II. In addition, there are associate lecturers, readers and professors from Civil and Electrical/Electronic Engineering Departments and the Faculty of Science that service the Department.  Also on ground are 4 technical staff, and all these are contained in our staff list.  A large number of the academic staff had their Ph.D abroad. The technical staffs also are registered with relevant professional bodies.  The senior academic staff have their specialties in areas such as Tribology, Production Engineering, Energy and Power, Thermofluids, Refrigeration and Air-conditioning, Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer, Materials, Machine Design and Mechanics of Machines.

The department has laboratories and workshop to keep the student’s training going. Since the beginning of the programme, our emphasis has always been on design and fabrication.  The first set of final year projects produced included maize Sheller, manual carpet sweeper, solar fish dryer and reciprocating gari grater.  Over the years, several other viable projects have been embarked upon in the department to meet the needs of our local environment and domestic use.  Such projects include: design and fabrication of solar water heater, cocoa pod breaking machine, palm fruit digester, manual nut cracker, biogas plant/cooker to mention a few. The Department started Postgraduate Diploma Programme in 1998 while the postgraduate programmes in both M.Eng. and Ph.D started at the beginning of 1999/2000 session.

Philosophy of Mechanical Engineering Programme

The philosophy of the programme is tailored towards producing graduate engineers with mastery in basic engineering education combined with sound practical skill and professional training, capable of exploiting current technologies and latest advances in the field of Mechanical Engineering, as well as being technically competent for innovations and self-reliance, and equipped to meet the industrial manpower needs both at home and abroad.

Mission Statement of the Department

As a progressing Department, it sets itself the mission of identifying and helping to solve the developmental problems of the State through training, research and services. In furtherance of these objectives, the Department of Mechanical Engineering provides innovative programmes of high quality to produce engineers for the industrialisation of the nation. The curriculum of this programme comprises of comprehensive courses of lectures and practical works in the laboratories and workshops.

Academic Staff Research Interests

A. Engr. (Prof.) S.B. Adeyemo

Solar Energy:            Performance evaluation of solar energy systems.  Optimization of solar collector parameters.  Estimation of solar radiation available in Nigeria. Annual performance of solar heating systems.

Alternative Energy:  Investigation into the use of biogas systems as alternative energy source for the future.

RAC:  Performance of regenerating systems.  Load analysis – Computer aided design.

B. Engr. (Prof.) O. Ajaja

Metallurgy and Metal Processing:   Heat treatment of metals and alloys.  Low and high temperature properties of metal, Solid solution.  Two-phase alloys and Ceramic materials (including specimen design and machining).  Microstructural characterization by optical and election microscopy and x-ray diffraction.  Radiation damage in metals and alloys.  Photo-thermal conversion of solar energy.  Scrap metal processing.

C. Engr. (Prof.) I.O. Oluwaleye: Convective heat transfer and fluid flows with application to drying.

D. Engr. (Dr) A. Adebayo: Metallurgy and Materials Engineering.

E. Engr. (Dr) D.O. Akindele: Thermofluids/Energy.

F. Engr (Dr) T.O. Oni:                         Thermofluids/Building Services.

G. Engr. (Dr) J.T. Stephen: Design, Tribology and Production.

H. Engr (Dr) J.O. Abere:             Tribology of Machine and Machine design.

I. Engr. (Dr) G. J. Adeyemi:             Production Engineering.

J. Engr. (Dr) A.A. Ojo:           Energy/Materials.

K. Engr. (Dr) A.S. Lawal:             Industrial Engineering.

L. Engr. (Dr) B.S. Oluwadare: Thermofluids.

M. Engr. (Dr) K.A. Olanipekun: Vibration Control.

N. Engr. (Mrs) M.A. Oluleye:            Thermofluids/Energy.

O. Engr S. A. Adeleye: Thermofluids.

P. Engr N. E. Oluwakayode:               Thermofluids.

The Head of the Department and Chairman Departmental Board

The Departmental Board consists of the Head of Department as Chairman and all academic staff of the Department. The Department sets up different committees to support the HOD and this includes; Admission matters, Staff review (teaching and non-teaching), Journal and Handbook publication, staff welfare, seminars and examination matters.